Unicode Braille ⠮

By Xah Lee. Date: . Last updated: .

Convert to Braille

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
, ; : ? ! ( ) / \

Braille Dot Names

Each Braille dot is named by their numerical order counting from left column first, top to bottom, starting with 1.

1 4 2 5 3 6

And a braille character is named by a sequence of their dot names. For example, this braille is identified as 124.

6-Dots Braille, All Together

Sort by unicode codepoint:

Sort by name (named by dot position):

Sort by dot count:

8-Dots Braille

In addition to the standard braille of 3 rows. Unicode has braille of 4 rows. 8-Dots braille is rarely used. They were used to encode music, or fast shorthand, or for Japanese, or possibly for math.

ISO/TR 11548 (released in 2001) defines the characters for eight-dot braille for Latin-based character sets.

When you have 6 dots, each is on/off, you have 2^6 = 64 possibilities. When you have 8 dots, you have 2^8 = 256 possibilities.

Each dot is also given a name, like this:

1 4 2 5 3 6 7 8

Braille cells with 7th dot:

Braille cells with 8th dot:

Braille cells with both 7th and 8th dot:






How To



Unicode for Programers